Injured on the Job in Louisiana? What to Do and When
If you're injured on the job while working in Louisiana, you may be entitled to financial help for your recovery. Louisiana's Workers' Compensation program requires most employers with at least one employee to have worker's compensation insurance. Every employee in Louisiana is covered, even if they commute from places like Gulfport, Picayune, Poplarville, or other parts of Mississippi. And it doesn't matter how long you've been on the job: you're covered even if you're injured on Day 1.
Here's what you need to know to collect your benefits.
File Your Claim Promptly
If you're injured on the job, you have 30 days to file a workers' compensation claim with your employer. That's important: If you try to file after that 30-day period, you may lose the right to appeal if your employer or insurance company denies your claim. Furthermore, if you delay in reporting your claim, it raises questions in the employer or carrier's mind as to the reason(s) for the delay in reporting.
Your Rights if You File a Claim
Workers' compensation provides several benefits and protections to employees who file claims following an on-the-job injury. Here are some of the more significant ones:
· Workers' compensation benefits may cover all or part of your medical care and rehabilitation costs, including travel, medicine, prosthetics, and assistive devices such as crutches and wheelchairs.
· You may qualify for disability compensation for all or part of the wages you lose during your recovery.
· Your employer cannot fire you for filing a workers' compensation claim. You can be fired for other reasons while your claim is in process, but you cannot be fired because of your claim.
· If your benefits claim is denied, the workers' compensation program guarantees you the right to appeal that decision. You also have the right to file a civil suit after a denial.
What to Do if Your Workers' Compensation Claim is Denied
It's not unusual for an employer's insurance company to deny a workers' compensation claim, refuse to pay for requested medical care, or stop making payments earlier than required under the law. When this happens, you'll need to exercise your right to file an appeal or a lawsuit promptly—and correctly.
Contact Delsa Law if You Have Questions
Whether you live in Louisiana or commute to Louisiana from Mississippi, if you've been injured in a workplace accident, you have rights under Louisiana law and deserve to have those rights protected.
Attorney Delsa has years of experience protecting hard-working people like you who have been injured on the job and will fight for you to get you the benefits you deserve. Contact Delsa Law Firm, LLC, today at (958) 882-1222 or through our online contact form to talk with us or schedule a free, no risk consultation. Conveniently located in Slidell, near the intersection of Interstates 10, 12, and 59, we're here to listen and help.